Week in Review #18 June 29-July 1

This week we are going to look at two decisions near the assistant referee.  They don't look like much at first view, but the players do get fouled.  How can we make sure we spot this?  On the same topic we present an incident in the penalty area on the assistant referee's diagonal.  What should you do?

Getting Stepped On

Two very similar plays near the assistant referee.  Neither assistant raises the flag, and from a distance it appears to be incidental contact and not worthy of a foul.  The replay shows both players being stepped on, which is a foul - and painful.
At the time both ARs can be fully focused on the incident since they are isolated and without any other decision to make.  There are similarities in both tackles.  The ball is not being shielded.  The defender lunges forward in an attempt at the ball and uses a downward movement of his cleats towards the top of the foot of the attacker.  Either he will get the ball or the player.   When the ball is missed the defender keeps his foot locked on the attacker's foot.  Point of contact is the top of the foot, which possibly could warrant a caution.
The referee, at a distance, will have difficulty seeing the point of contact and the AR needs to step in on this type of play and raise the flag.

Call of the Week #17 - Winner - Mike Kampmeinert

Call of the Week #18

This week we are going negative.  Who said "No" the best this week as both of the Call of the Week choices are offside decisions that deny a team a goal.  First in NY,  Brian Dunn calls back a goal on Minnesota.  Second, Corey Rockwell denies Columbus' Higuain on what would have been a nice goal.

Dunn

Rockwell

Who had Call of the Week #18?
Brian Dunn - NY Football Club v Minnesota United
Corey Rockwell - Columbus v Atlanta

What Should You Do? Portland II v Reno - Answer

This is offside, as most of you agree.  The offside attacker makes a clear attempt at the ball that is close to him and he is also in line with the goalkeeper. Although not directly in the goalkeeper's line of vision he is close enough to impact the keeper's save.  The goalkeeper making the save is not one of the considerations you use to determine offside.
You take a risk by not raising the flag, just because possession was gained by the defense, in this case a clear counter attack has not been started.  If they should lose possession it will be too late to raise the flag.  Better to raise the flag and give the referee the option of putting it down if the defender immediately sends the ball forward.

What should you do? - POR II v Reno?
Flag - attacker interfered with an opponent
No flag - attacker did not interfere with an opponent
No flag - Goalkeeper made save - no interference
No flag - It was offside, but POR ended up with control of the ball
Other
Please Specify:

What Should You Do?  DC United v Montreal

Take a look at this incident in the penalty area.  What is the best course of action for the assistant referee to take on this play.  As part of your decision making process you should note the referee's position in the wide angle view.

What should you do? - DC v Montreal?
Flag - foul by DC player - Penalty Kick
Communicate - foul by DC player - Penalty Kick
Eye Contact then Flag - foul be DC player - Penalty kick
No flag - there is no foul
Communicate - contact by DC player but no penalty kick
Do nothing - Referee has clear view on incident
Other
Please Specify: